Should I apply? When?

NYCteacher

Should I apply? When?

Post by NYCteacher »

Hi everyone,

I've been thinking about moving abroad since I was in college, and now, as a teacher, I can't stop thinking about teaching abroad. Right now, I am just trying to gauge what my plan should be and what my chances are.

At the earliest, I would apply for jobs for fall 2014. Here are my qualifications for that time frame:

- 3 years teaching experience (in a Title 1 school in NYC)
- Graduated with honors from the University of Chicago (degrees in environmental studies and philosophy)
- MS in Education
- Alternatively certified through the NYC Teaching Fellows
- Certified in secondary Special Education (currently) and plan to get certified in chemistry or biology in the upcoming year
- Have taught: biology, earth science, physics, a field science course, humanities, English, SETSS in pre-calculus
- College Board Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD) Coordinator
- Assist with girls soccer team; started a philosophy club
- Studied/lived in Vienna for 3 months during college
- No spouse or dependents

Any ideas of my chances for 2014 or ways to improve my resume would be very much appreciated!
NYCteacher

Post by NYCteacher »

Does anyone have any tips or comments on what type of jobs I would be most qualified for?

Should I try for 2014-2015 school year? Or wait longer?

Thank you! :D
BookshelfAmy

Post by BookshelfAmy »

I don't teach abroad (applying this year), but I've lurked around these forums for quite a while. Since no one else is responding, I'll give it a shot.