Media inquiry - teacher recruitment

Journalist

Media inquiry - teacher recruitment

Post by Journalist »

I am a journalist with an international newspaper. I'm preparing an article for publication in the next few days on claims by recruitment agencies on shortages of qualified teachers for international schools. Recruiters say there are two factors discouraging teachers from applying for positions - concerns about security in traveling abroad (particularly in parts of the Middle East and Asia) and relatively better salaries in source countries. I would like the views of teachers on whether they are increasingly reluctant to work overseas, or in particular countries, because of issues of worsening security or terms. I would also be interested in whether there is any indication this situation has affected the quality of tuition. I welcome any responses.
quid

Post by quid »

Hi...I would be happy to share my experience. What newspaper are you writing for? There is also a teacher shortage in the US, due to unreasonable demands, paltry pay, huge class sizes, etc. I have worked in both public and international schools.

Post by Guest »

The newspaper is the Herald Tribune. I would appreciate any comments on the role security considerations play in determining which countries you will work in. Have you left a country for security reasons or reconsidered a job for security reasons? Also, what role do financial issues play in the decision to teach abroad? Is there still the same financial incentive to go abroad? Another question is whether teacher shortages have made it difficult to fill certain teaching roles in schools you have worked. One principal in Indonesia told me she can't find a speech therapist and the job has been vacant for more than 12 months. Could you identify what country you are in and what countries you have taught in, if not the schools.
JISAlum

Post by JISAlum »