SEARCH Bangkok vs. Cambridge

BrianKevin

SEARCH Bangkok vs. Cambridge

Post by BrianKevin »

Hi all. I'm a journalist and a non-teacher living in the US, currently pitching a story that has to do with the expanding market for international schools and, specifically, the phenomenon of hiring fairs. I've been told in conversations with teacher friends and acquaintances that the January Bangkok fair is kind of the Wimbledon of international-school job fairs: the most competitive, with the most elite schools and most experienced applicants. I've also noticed, however, that Search seems to market the Cambridge job fair as its flagship event, and that it also seems rather competitive.

I wonder whether anyone can help contrast these two events for me. Maybe it's wrong-headed to try and "rank" them, but I'm curious to know how the fairs are regarded among veteran teachers. Where do you go if you're aiming for top-tier schools? What are the fairs that relative newbies might be wise to avoid? If schedule and travel costs were not an issue, what factors does one way when choosing between Bangkok and Cambridge (or, for that matter, London or some of the others)?

Many thanks for any light you can shed.
gr8teach

Post by gr8teach »

I'd say it would be London and Bangkok as 1 and 2, in no order. First off they are earlier in the season and allow top schools to fill voids. Furthermore, most teachers there are already living/ teaching abroad so they are already in the field and much less of a flake out risk for recruiting schools.

Hard to rank'em - London is more for European schools while Bangkok is more Asia centric.

Cambridge is later and lacks international experience.
BrianKevin

Post by BrianKevin »