What are my chances of working at an International school?

jtomstone

What are my chances of working at an International school?

Post by jtomstone »

I graduated with a BEd in 2010 in the primary/junior division (from a Canadian university in Ontario). I have a teaching certificate from the Ontario College of Teachers.

When I finished, I went overseas to teach in South Korea. My first year I worked at a private school with elementary students. Currently I am working at a public middle school. I'm teaching EFL.

In retrospect, it was maybe a bad idea to teach EFL after I graduated, but I wanted to experience teaching in another country and Korea had plenty of jobs.

What are my chances of getting a job teaching at the elementary level in an International school?

I read some posts on here about new teachers fresh out of school getting jobs at international schools in China, outside of the major cities. I wouldn't mind working in China, I'm just not sure where to start getting a job there.

Would it be best to go back to Canada and get 2 years of experience?

Has anyone made the transition from ESL to teaching at an International school?
lennoc

It's never hopeless...

Post by lennoc »

While it isn't great that you don't have any "proper" teaching experience you are qualified and you have at least demonstrated the ability to live internationally - make sure you mention that on any applications. Schools find it encouraging that you have successfully lived and worked overseas.

Personally I'd advise joining Search Associates or similar (ISS), it's not that expensive and it will give you access to their database. Then just start applying for jobs everywhere. You probably won't get hired early in the season but if you put out enough applications you've got a reasonable chance of scoring something. Don't be too fussy. Any school that pays on time can probably be put up with for 2 years and after that you'll be in a much stronger position for trying for your next job.