Athletic Director

nkraai

Athletic Director

Post by nkraai »

I was just curious as to what kind of qualifications it would take to be an AD at an international school? At least in the state I am in, it is almost impossible to break in to this position with so few positions. I've coached in the past, and played competitively in multiple sports through high school and one in college. Yes, I am a teacher. However; I have no AD experience. Thoughts?
liketotravel

Post by liketotravel »

P.E. background + coaching experience would help greatly. I've held a few A.D. positions in international schools and that was the background I used to get in. I feel my coaching and player experience has really helped the most in my job. I got my first job at a fair and it has seemed like the door is open to find an A.D. position worldwide, if a school doesn't hire internally there is not much competition.
gccoach

Post by gccoach »

I agree 100% with liketotravel. The easiest way to get an AD job is to find a PE job then get hired internally after you have been there a year or two, but the market for an AD at the fairs has been pretty thin. I got an AD job at a fair with PE+coaching and had one year as a MS AD at a private school in the states. I now have no desire for an AD job, but the last fair I attended I was shortlisted for every AD job available just because of that experience.
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »