Where can I teach next year?

Love4Teaching12

Where can I teach next year?

Post by Love4Teaching12 »

I am considering teaching internationally next school year. I'm currently an elementary teacher with 4 years of teaching experience. I have my Bachelor's degree in Interdisciplinary Studies (for Early/Elementary taching) and my Master's Degree in Teaching. I also graduated with a minor in a foreign language and an ESL certificate with my graduate program. I am married to someone who doesn't teach and we have two beautiful sons. I have solely worked in progressive private schools.

I know of two people (with families that have a non-teaching spouse) that have secured elementary teaching positions abroad.

I wanted to come here to get more information about it and to see what schools/regions I would be best suited for with my experience. Thank you for your feedback in advance!
Glerky

Post by Glerky »

My advice would be... 'keep your options open.' Most international schools at the moment will only hire a teacher with three dependents for hard to fill positions. They will also do it late in the game (after April). It's not impossible but it won't be easy and you will not be a first choice.

Your foreign language might be the ticket.
Love4Teaching12

[quote="Glerky"]My advice would be... 'keep your options open.' Most international schools at the moment will only hire a teacher with three dependents for hard to fill positions. They will also do it late in the game (after April). It's not impossible but it won't be easy and you will not be a first choice.

Your foreign language might be the ticket.[/quote]

Oh, wow. That's not very good.
How would m foreign language be useful? Will they possibly have me teach using the language at some point?

Outside of International Schools, is there any other way I can teach elementary school abroad? I have always taught either 4th or 5th grade and feel that I'm an innovative teacher.
heyteach

Post by heyteach »