Return to Teaching - Now Employed in Corporate World

jtnavar

Return to Teaching - Now Employed in Corporate World

Post by jtnavar »

Hello all -

I'm fairly new to this forum, so please be gentle...

I was a teacher for 13 years, the last position I held was 2004-2005. I have taught in both large urban school districts and private schools. I am primarily a Music teacher, but am also certified in Technology Applications and have taught that as well. Both are all level certifications from the State of Texas. I also hold old certifications in Elementary Self-Contained and Info Processing Technology.

For the last 7 years I have been employed as an Instructional and Curriculum Designer - for 2.5 years in Higher Ed and the rest of the time in the Corporate environment. I am now a contractor for a large financial services company. I have expertise in designing instructional activities for both online and instructor-led training.

My one and only is going off to college next year in his father's home state, so Mom is somewhat free.

I have always been interested in teaching overseas. I may be a bit late to the game this year, but my question is - what are my chances if I have not been employed as a teacher recently?

I am also a private piano teacher and still teach, so in that respect I am still teaching.

I'm also 52 and unmarried.

Would I be a strong candidate? What about my fields - music and technology? Do I need to get certified in something else? I'm hoping that my strong curriculum design skills and online learning background would be of value.

I await your responses.

Thank you!

--JT
Kali

Post by Kali »

Do you have any other music certifications? Did you participate in Orff or Kodaly training? Music for young children? Suzuki training?