Provisional credential?

ready2go

Provisional credential?

Post by ready2go »

My wife and I are wanting to go international, and we're wondering if we'll make it.

I have 18 years teaching experience and am currently teaching at a high ranked school in California. I have a masters in ed and a masters in ed tech. I am credentialed in social studies. I teach world & US history, gov, econ and yearbook. I've taught English, humanities, health, speech and debate and a bunch of other classes over the years (but mostly history). I was also a debate coach for 13 years.

My wife has been a stay at home mom for 17 years. Has never been hired to teach, but has been a sub for 2 years (our youngest is now in school). She has an expired Utah credential, and a current provisional California credential in English and social studies. We live in a small town in California and there is declining enrollment all over our county, so there sin't any hope that she will get hired at a local school to get a couple of years teaching experience.

So my questions are:

1. Is is possible for my wife to get hired with a provisional credential, and what would that mean in the long run (as in, say she gets hired but then her provisional credential expires down the road).

2. I know we aren't 1st tier school material, but what schools should we be looking at. I know people will say 2nd or 3rd tier schools, but could someone suggest actual schools?

We are willing to go anywhere really. We are looking to become a part of a community and would rather commit for longer times where possible.

Oh and we have 3 school age kids and a son who will graduate this year.

Thanks for your input, and hopeful solutions.
PsyGuy

Advice

Post by PsyGuy »

Your wife doesn't have a certificate she has a provisional intern permit, not a preliminary certificate?