IB Physics Teacher with non-teaching spouse and two children

spruxy

IB Physics Teacher with non-teaching spouse and two children

Post by spruxy »

I am a Canadian IB Physics teacher with 5 years of international school experience. I am thinking of going to a job fair this year but am not sure how I would fair with a non-teaching spouse and two children. I hear stories of how single teachers with dependants wont even be looked at at a job fair, but am wondering what my prospects are being that I am a Physics teacher which I understand is in higher demand.
My wife is currently in the process of getting certified as a teacher, would it be wiser for us to stay put until we are a teaching couple?
I appreciate any feedback that anyone has to offer, thanks.
heyteach

Post by heyteach »

I'd say, go for it. You just never know what will open up for you. If a school wants you badly enough (and I think you would be in demand), they will bend over backward to accommodate you.
DCgirl

Post by DCgirl »

It makes it more difficult but not impossible by any means. I am a single teacher with dependents and had many interviews at my last job fair. It will be clear which schools will not hire you with a family. I'm in a very good school and there are several people that were hired with families-where they did not offer a job to the other spouse or partner was not a teacher.
PsyGuy

Comment

Post by PsyGuy »

I disagree with the previous posters. If you plan on a job search sooner rather then later (meaning wife will be certified soon, like this year) then go to a fair. Your wife doesnt have to be certified and she can still attend interviews with you (the Search fee is $75 for her, but you can probably avoid paying it). It will just be very frustrating likely if it you, a trailing spouse, and 2 kids. Your going to hear "were waiting" a lot coming from recruiters, meaning they are waiting for a cheaper candidate.