American School of Dubai

teacher4429

American School of Dubai

Post by teacher4429 »

I've been watching this school for some time as it has had such a great reputation. I'm a HS teacher and noticed that in the past three years there have been three different principals. This doesn't seem like a positive thing. Can anyone at the school provide some insight? How is life in the HS?
PsyGuy

Sory

Post by PsyGuy »

Well, 1) It's in the middle east. 2) it's run like a for profit school, with a strong parent influence board, and Parent Association. Parents get what they want, and it's a futile task to be an administrator, and be little more then a puppet and a sock puppet for the board.
Walter

Stupid person = stupid comment

Post by Walter »

You know zero about the American School of Dubai, Dave, but it seems like you cannot stop yourself from posting. Harmless enough on one level but some people may think you have the faintest idea what you're talking about. Seriously, I think you're in need of help.
For 4429, Their previous head of school was a good guy, and they have appointed this year one of the top heads on the circuit who will spend his every working day trying to make ASD better still. If you want to work in the Middle East, this is one of the top three schools. (Which means that someone with Psyguy's laughable employment history wouldn't make it to first base at a recruiting fair.)
overseasvet2

ASD

Post by overseasvet2 »

This is one of the top schools in the region. I believe all the division principals are changing with the hire of a new head of school - the former head of Singapore American School.

The school has experienced explosive growth in recent years. That has its own set of challenges but the school remains one of the great spots to work in the Middle East.
PsyGuy

Context

Post by PsyGuy »

Thank you to the ME cheerleading team.

The top three of anything from the bottom of the barrel is still the bottom of the barrel .