Recommendation from current employer-help!

Happy4Me

Recommendation from current employer-help!

Post by Happy4Me »

Hello everyone,

I'm really interested in applying for a position in Belgium or Germany. I'm currently an associate professor at a community college, but I have teaching credentials in social studies. I am not tenured, but in very good standing. As many of you know, the tenure process is precarious. If my department chair were to get the impression that I am *considering* leaving, I could jeopardize my employment (and since this is really competitive, I need to have the option to stay). Also, we are friendly with each other but I do not trust that she would give a decent evaluation if she is offended by my job search...and she WILL be offended.
What should I do about the evaluation?
PsyGuy

Reflection

Post by PsyGuy »

Higher Ed faculty don't transition well to K-12, it depends what your resume is, and how long it's been since you've been out of the classroom. Most ISs don't give salary credit for higher ed either. Secondly, with such a narrow focus, you could be really frustrated and unsuccessful. In Europe Germany is the most common, and has the most schools. Few schools n Germany require EU passports. Belgium is a lot harder, there are only a few (about 4) schools, and ISB is often considered one of the top elite schools in the world. It's insanely competitive. Again, you'd have to tell us more about your resume.

Back to your question. If your chair is going to give you a bad reference in retaliation or for any reason, then don't use it. It will kill your job search. You either need to get someone else at your college to write it (preferably a dean, or VP, but a coworker if it has to be), drop the job from your resume, or find another job/position to bury the job and reference. Those are they only options.
Happy4Me

Post by Happy4Me »