teaching job with no experience?

jboeh2

teaching job with no experience?

Post by jboeh2 »

Hello.

I tried to search topics to find a situation similar to mine, but no luck. Let me first say that I am married with two children (age 1&3) I am recently New York state certified to teach Elementary Education (1-6) and Special Ed (1-6). I have student teaching experience in IB and will be starting my online Masters this summer (hope to finish by next fall). Currently, I am subbing near full-time since February of this year. Given that there are about 600 applicants per open job where I live, I’m not betting on a job here any time soon. Extremely competitive. Given I have no full time experience and a family, what are my chances of landing a job at an International School (looking for next Fall)? I am looking in Africa/Asia.
Thanks

Josiah
psychris

Post by psychris »

Yeah, Rochester (and all of western NY) is a wasteland right now. I know from experience. I'd say your chances are better overseas than they are here, but don't expect anything too awesome with your lack of experience and non-teaching spouse. Being a male elementary Ed teacher with sped certification is a plus though.

Have you considered the middle east?

If i were you, I'd join Search and see if anyone's interested at the fair.
PsyGuy

No

Post by PsyGuy »

The minimum for a international teacher at a second tier school is 2 years of full time teaching experience. Subbing doesnt count. Having a family of 4 with a trailing spouse is going to make it next to impossible. If anything id look to the middle east. Search is unlikely to accept you, as they would not likely be able to place you. Id look at TIE online. Sorry but practically speaking your not employable.
WeDoDude

Post by WeDoDude »