Advice: Teachers with dependents

Fstop

Advice: Teachers with dependents

Post by Fstop »

I have been to 3 Search Fairs - I was not hired at any of them because of my lack of IB experience. I have IB experience now (2 years) and want to go to the Bangkok Search fair next January.

I'm currently teaching DP A1 English and Language & Literature, as well as some MYP Language A at a 2nd tier international school. I have a master's degree in English and a teaching (CLAD) credential from California. I am married however my wife is not a teacher; she would be coming with me as a dependent. What are my chances at the Bangkok fair in January? I was turned away last time primarily for my lack of IB experience, but I know that schools favor teaching couples and singles without dependents as well.
PsyGuy

Toss up

Post by PsyGuy »

Thats a toss up if Search would give you an invite, they may. I think if you go to Search BK your going to have a few more interviews, but your going to be frustrated, because your not going to be at the top of anyones list. Youd be "happier" at Boston as youd be closer to the top of the candidate spectrum instead of at the bottom. Your not comparing yourself to a list of qualifications your comparing yourself to everyone else there. And everyone at BK has years of experience, masters degrees, and IB experience. English/Lit isnt a high demand area. Add the logistics cost of a trailing spouse and you drop from average to the bottom of the pile (you still made the list though). Your going to get a few more interviews, but basically your going to hear a lot of "Were waiting", which means your going to be a schools safety pick or backup.
buffalofan

Post by buffalofan »

Just a thought, have you considered attending the fair as a 'single' and bringing your wife on your own? This is not possible in all countries of course, but there are many places where your wife could be a de-facto 'tourist' or obtain a student visa by doing a language course, etc.