Taiwan?

Parrot Head

Taiwan?

Post by Parrot Head »

Hi everyone. I'm new to the international school scene, and I have had some interest from a school in southern Taiwan. I wanted to ask if anyone knows what it's like there. The school is located in Kaohsiung. It's an for-profit IB school. I'd love to break into the IB system, but I've heard some negative things about for-profit schools. I've got a trailing husband and a preschool age child that would be following me.

Specifically, I wanted to ask what it's like in Kaohsiung. Taiwan was completely off my radar until I talked with this school, and I don't really feel knowledgeable enough about it to make an informed decision. Is it a good place to live? Is it a good place to raise a child? What is the cost of living like? I have a million questions, but I'll leave it at that for now. If you have anything to add that I haven't thought to ask, please include it! Thank you.
gr8teach

Post by gr8teach »

Taiwan is an excellent place to live. It is clean, its cheap, the people are friendly, the food is tasty and there is a great network of expats (mostly English teachers).
I lived in Taipei before but I've been to Kaohsiung. Its a pleasant seaside side city. It was always considered dirtier than Taipei (more industrial) but, its far less dirty than many large Asian cities. The south of Taiwan has some beautiful and relatively untouched travel options.
One of the best things about Taiwan is its not on some tourists or backpackers radar. Meaning people don't try and take advantage of you because you are foreign. Westerners are also well respected in Taiwan, particularly teachers. The students have an excellent work ethic ( most go to additional school or private classes well into the evening).